Service professionnel et rapide depuis 1972
15678 Cabot Trail, Chéticamp, N.-É. B0E 1H0
Appelez en tout temps!
902-224-3422
Heures de bureau
Lun. - ven. 9h à 14h30
Disponible 24h / 24
Lignes toujours ouvertes
Close
15678 Cabot Trail, Chéticamp, N.-É. B0E 1H0
Appelez en tout temps!
902-224-3422
Heures de bureau
Lun. - ven. 9h à 14h30
Disponible 24h / 24
Lignes toujours ouvertes

Joseph Gérard Boudreau

Joseph Gérard Boudreau

Agé de 90 ans, de Chéticamp, Comté d’Inverness, est décédé paisiblement le mercredi 28 août 2019 entouré de sa famille.  Né à Chéticamp, il était le fils de feu Anselme et de feu Zoé (Deveau) Boudreau.  Gérard aimait travailler à l’extérieur dans son chalet sur l’île de Chéticamp, jouer au ‘crib’, écouter le violon et chansons acadiennes et surtout passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis.  Il était un fervent catholique et paroissien de l’Église Saint-Pierre, Chéticamp.  Il a été un chef de file communautaire toute sa vie, en tant que propriétaire d’entreprise locale (Chéticamp Welding and Machine Shop) depuis 1958, membre et plus tard chef des pompiers de Chéticamp et membre des Chevaliers de Colomb – 4e degré.  Gérard aimait sa communauté natale de Chéticamp et a passé toute sa vie à contribuer à son développement et à s’assurer que les gens allaient bien connaître leur histoire.  Chéticamp n’aurait pas été le même sans lui.  Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, grandes et petites, ont été l’installation de panneaux d’interprétation sur le Quai Mathieu expliquant l’histoire de la mine de plâtre; la publication de l’histoire des pompiers de Chéticamp et la vente du livre des mémoires de son père (dont il a contribué les profits pour l’installation de la croix au nouveau cimetière communautaire).  Mais pour nous, ses enfants et petits-enfants, il était tout simplement notre Pape et Pépère bien-aimé : un gentil homme.  Il va nous manquer.

Gérard laisse dans le deuil son épouse de 52 ans, Dorothy; ses enfants Denise (Lawrence), Géraldine (Joe), Geoffrine (Mark) et Harold (Kristen); ses petits-enfants Alex, Sam, Ben, Gabby, Henry, Thérèse, Moira, Connor et Kathryn; arrière-petits-enfants Ben et Isabela; frère Edmond; et plusieurs nièces et neveux.  Prédécédé par ses frères Wilfred, Arthur, Tassien, Simon Pierre, Laurent et ses sœurs Marie Yvonne, Bernadette et Béatrice.  La famille tient à remercier le Dr Sonier et les infirmières du Centre de santé communautaire Sacré-Cœur, ainsi que les Drs LaPierre, McGory et Klassen et les infirmières de l’Hôpital régional du Cap-Breton pour les excellents soins et la gentillesse qu’ils ont donnés à notre père pendant sa maladie.

Visite au salon funéraire de Chéticamp le dimanche 1er septembre de 14 h à 16 h et de 19 h à 21 h.  Les funérailles seront célébrées à l’Église St Pierre à Chéticamp, le lundi 2 septembre à 10 h 30, avec Père Bill Burke.  Inhumation à une date ultérieure.  Au lieu de fleurs, des dons peuvent être faits à la Société canadienne du cancer.

 

Envoyez vos condoléances

Notez : Tous les champs sont requis. Les condoléances sont reçues et revues par le personnel du Salon funéraire de Chéticamp et publiées deux fois par semaine. Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée.

Options de condoléances

Sélectionnez la façon dont vous souhaitez que vos condoléances soient traitées par le Salon funéraire de Chéticamp.

Envoyées à la famille seulement
Envoyées à la famille et publiées sur ce site Web

Le bouton SOUMETTRE demeure inactif jusqu'à ce que le champ de sécurité « Je ne suis pas un robot » soit complété.

Prompt Professional Service Since 1972
15678 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, N.S. B0E 1H0
Call Anytime!
902-224-3422
Office Hours
Mon - Fri 9.00-4.30
Available 24 / 7
Lines Always Open
Close
15678 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, N.S. B0E 1H0
Call Anytime!
902-224-3422
Office Hours
Mon - Fri 9.00-4.30
Available 24 / 7
Lines Always Open

Joseph Gérard Boudreau

Joseph Gérard Boudreau

Age 90, of Chéticamp, Inverness County, passed away peacefully on Wednesday, August 28th, 2019 surrounded by his family.  Born in Chéticamp, he was the son of the late Anselme and the late Zoé (Deveau) Boudreau.  Gérard loved working outdoors at his cabin on Chéticamp Island, playing crib, listening to fiddle music and french Acadian songs and spending time with family and friends.  He was a devout Catholic and parishioner of Église St. Pierre, Chéticamp.  He was a community leader all his life, as a local business owner (Chéticamp Welding and Machine Shop) since 1958, member and later Chief of the Chéticamp Volunteer Fire Department, and a member of the 4th degree Knights of Columbus.  Gérard loved his home community of Chéticamp and spent his entire life contributing to its development and ensuring that people always remembered and understood its history.  Chéticamp would not have been the same without him.  Among his many accomplishments, both big and small, were the installation of interpretive signs on the Quai Mathieu to explain the history of the local Gypsum Mine; the publication of the history of the Chéticamp Volunteer Fire Department, and his father’s memoirs (from which he contributed the profits to the installation of the cross at the new community cemetery).  But to us, his children and grandchildren, he was simply our beloved Pape and Pépère: a good and kind man.  We will miss him.

Gérard is survived by his wife of 52 years, Dorothy; his children Denise (Lawrence), Géraldine (Joe), Geoffrine (Mark), and Harold (Kristen); his grandchildren Alex, Sam, Ben, Gabby, Henry, Thérèse, Moira, Connor, and Kathryn; great grandchildren Ben and Isabela; brother Edmond; and many nieces and nephews.  Predeceased by brothers Wilfred, Arthur, Tassien, Simon Pierre, Laurent, and sisters Marie Yvonne, Bernadette, and Beatrice.  The family wishes to thank Dr. Sonier and the nurses at Sacred Heart Community Health Centre, and Drs. LaPierre, McGory and Klassen and the nurses at the Cape Breton Regional Hospital, for the excellent care and kindness they gave our father during his illness.

Visitation at the Chéticamp Funeral Home on Sunday, September 1st from 2-4 pm and 7-9 pm.  Funeral mass will be celebrated at Église St Pierre, Chéticamp, on Monday, September 2nd at 10:30 am., with Reverend Bill Burke officiating.  Interment at a later date.  In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to the Canadian Cancer Society.

Condolences

  • Kelli September 4, 2019 4:28 pm

    Dear Dorothy and Families,
    Our deepest condolences to all.
    Sincerely,
    Lionel, Kelli & Spencer Enslow
    Shelburne, NS

  • Laird & Margaret Burton September 1, 2019 4:04 pm

    We would like to send our sincere condolences to the family. May he rest in peace.

  • Leona et Philippe September 1, 2019 12:57 pm

    Tres desoles d’apprendre la nouvelle du deces de mon oncle Gerard et tres, tres desoles (a cause de la maladie a Leona) de ne pas pouvoir assister a ses funerailles.
    Nous garderons toujours de bons souvenirs de lui: grand travaillant mais aussi bon vivant, fier acadien et ayant beaucoup de joie de vivre, on se souviendra de lui pour son optimisme et la defense de sa communaute et surtout de sa famille. Une vie bien vecue et un repos eternal bien merite. Sinceres condoleances. Leona et Philippe

  • Martin Gillis September 1, 2019 11:12 am

    Dorothy, so sorry to hear that Gerard has passed. On behalf of all the Gillis family we offer our sincere condolences, we will keep you and your family in our prayers.

  • Fred & Catherine Johnson August 31, 2019 10:23 pm

    Denise, Lawrence & all your family, also to dear Mrs. Boudreau and all family, we send our Deepest Sympathy in this time of great sadness. Love & Prayers from Fred & Cathy Johnson, Dartmouth.

  • Daniel & Rosemary Poirier , New Waterford August 31, 2019 4:28 pm

    Dear Dorthy and family. May the love of family and friends sustain you at this difficult time. As time passes may your memories of Gerry (dad) bring a smile to your face and hearts. You are in our thoughts and Prayers. Rip Gerry.

Send your condolences

NOTICE: All fields are required. Condolences are held for review by Cheticamp Funeral Services staff. Condolences are reviewed and published twice per week. Your email address will not be published.

Condolence option

Please select how you would like Cheticamp Funeral Services to handle your condolence.

Send only to the family.
Send to the family and publish on this website.

The SUBMIT button will remain deactivated until the “I’m not a robot” security feature has been completed.