Prompt Professional Service Since 1972
15678 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, N.S. B0E 1H0
Call Anytime!
902-224-3422
Office Hours
Mon - Fri 9.00-4.30
Available 24 / 7
Lines Always Open
Close
15678 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, N.S. B0E 1H0
Call Anytime!
902-224-3422
Office Hours
Mon - Fri 9.00-4.30
Available 24 / 7
Lines Always Open

Shawn Poirier

Shawn Poirier

It is with great sadness that we announce the death of Shawn Russell Poirier. A beloved son, grandson & friend to most who had the opportunity to meet him. Shawn passed away after a short battle with cancer at the age of 41 in Hope BC, on April 9th 2024.

At a distance from his hometown and most relatives, in the few weeks prior to his passing, Shawn was blessed with time with both of his parents, his aunt Camella, good family friend Neil, as well as visits from cousins Garrett and Nathan.

As many young Cheticampers do, in Shawn’s youth and teenage years, you’d have often found Shawn on the ice… or in the penalty box. It was because of his love of hockey that he earned his nickname of Big Show – one that lived on for decades thereafter. The bond that grew between the boys on that team is still strong and everlasting – especially after becoming 2001 provincial champions in Shawn’s grade 12 year.

After high school, Shawn was invited to continue his Big Show legacy at St. Francis Xavier University where he became part of their football team! A year later, he found himself in Halifax. It is then that Shawn became the protector of many while working as a bouncer at bars in the city. Years later, he moved out to Edmonton and worked on pipelines for a number of years.

Though Shawn was born in the small town of Cheticamp, it didn’t stop him from seeing the world through his work and travels in his 41 years of life. The map hung up in his apartment in BC showed dozens of pins throughout the country and into the US of places he was able to visit.

The last few years of his life were spent in beautiful Hope, BC. Though he would have loved to be amongst his relatives in Cape Breton at the time of his passing, the breathtaking views from his hospital window brought some peace and comfort during the hardest days. From Halifax to Edmonton to Hope, Shawn may have been far from his hometown but not far from love and support. With his best friend at his side through it all, John Michael MacEachearn, wife Alora and their three lovely children, Laila, his godchild Sienna and Ella – Shawn was with family.

There will not be a day that will go by where Georgina & Amedee John will not feel the loss of their beloved son. Shawn was everything to them, and they were everything to Shawn. Not an evening would go by without Shawn calling home for a chat or facetime with his parents.

Shawn also had a deep love and adoration for his furry companions, making sure his pups were treated like royalty. In Shawn’s passing, we have no doubt his little kings Lincoln and Grumpy will be racing over to greet him. And his beautiful Eddie will be cared for by his parents in Cheticamp, assuring that he will be equally spoiled and loved.

One cannot think of or talk about Shawn without a smile on their face. Shawn’s gift to the world was his humor and laughter. With a knack to effortlessly lift people’s spirits, Shawn always had something up his sleeves and a joke around the corner. Children, in particular, adored him affectionately calling him Menoncle Shawn or Uncle Big Show. Countless little ones were blessed to have him in their lives.

Shawn leaves behind his loving mother, Georgina (Roach) and devoted father, Amedee John, his grandfather Stanislas (Lionel), his aunts Yvonne, Yvette, Germaine, Marguerite Marie, Francine, Lucie Anne, Marie-Cecile, Lisette, his uncles, Joseph Charles, Daniel and Emile as well as an extended family of cousins. Shawn is also predeceased by his grandparents, Joseph à Charlot & Marie Anne Roach and Marguerite Poirier, uncles Russell, Claude & Nazaire, as well as aunt Patricia and Brenda.

Visitation will be held at the Cheticamp Funeral Home on Friday, June 28, 2024 from 7-9 pm. Funeral service will be held on Saturday, June 29, 2024 at 10:30 am in St. Peter’s Church, Cheticamp with Deacon Gerald LeBlanc officiating. Burial to follow in the parish cemetery.

In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to the Cape Breton Cancer Patient Care Fund.

In this time of mourning, let us remember Shawn’s laughter and good spirit. Let’s celebrate the profound impact he had on all who had the privilege of knowing him. May his memory be a blessing and may he rest in peace.

Condolences

  • Laura May 10, 2024 7:39 am

    Georgina the loss of your wonderful soul has touched us greatly. 💔 we pray for your strength and knowledge that he will always be in your heart
    Members of
    Society of St Vincent de Paul

  • Richard Deveau April 23, 2024 9:29 pm

    Mes sympathies à Georgina , Amédée John et à toute la famille.

  • maurice larade April 22, 2024 4:52 pm

    So sorry georgina and family on your loss.

  • Wayne & Marielle LeBlanc April 22, 2024 11:19 am

    Wayne & I are so sorry for your great loss. Sometimes it hard to understand what life gives you. We hope that having family & good friends around you, at this difficult time, will help you to deal with the pain. Please accept our deepest condolences & prayers. We would be with you if we could.

  • Ethel April 22, 2024 10:11 am

    Sorry for your loss. My words cannot express your feelings.

Send your condolences

NOTICE: All fields are required. Condolences are held for review by Cheticamp Funeral Services staff. Condolences are reviewed and published twice per week. Your email address will not be published.

Condolence option

Please select how you would like Cheticamp Funeral Services to handle your condolence.

Send only to the family.
Send to the family and publish on this website.

The SUBMIT button will remain deactivated until the “I’m not a robot” security feature has been completed.

Service professionnel et rapide depuis 1972
15678 Cabot Trail, Chéticamp, N.-É. B0E 1H0
Appelez en tout temps!
902-224-3422
Heures de bureau
Lun. - ven. 9h à 14h30
Disponible 24h / 24
Lignes toujours ouvertes
Close
15678 Cabot Trail, Chéticamp, N.-É. B0E 1H0
Appelez en tout temps!
902-224-3422
Heures de bureau
Lun. - ven. 9h à 14h30
Disponible 24h / 24
Lignes toujours ouvertes

Shawn Poirier

Shawn Poirier

C’est avec une grande tristesse que nous annonçons le décès de Shawn Russell Poirier. Un fils, un petit-fils et un ami bien-aimé pour ceux qui ont eu l’occasion de le rencontrer. Shawn est décédé après une courte bataille contre le cancer à l’âge de 41 ans à Hope BC, le 9 avril 2024.

Éloigné de sa ville natale et de la plupart de ses proches, Shawn a eu la chance, quelques semaines avant son décès, de passer du temps avec ses parents, sa tante Camella, un bon ami de la famille, Neil, ainsi que des visites des cousins Garrett et Nathan.

Comme beaucoup de jeunes de Chéticamp, Shawn a souvent été sur la glace ou au banc des pénalités pendant sa jeunesse et son adolescence. C’est grâce à son amour du hockey qu’il a gagné son surnom de Big Show – un surnom qui a perduré pendant des décennies. Le lien qui s’est tissé entre les garçons de cette équipe est toujours aussi fort et durable, surtout après que l’équipe soit devenue championne provinciale en 2001, lors de sa douzième année.

Après l’école secondaire, Shawn a été à l’université St. François Xavier, où il est devenu membre de l’équipe de football ! Un an plus tard, il se retrouve à Halifax. C’est alors que Shawn devient le protecteur de plusieurs personnes en travaillant comme ‘bouncer’ dans les bars de la ville. Des années plus tard, il a déménagé à Edmonton pour quelques années.

Bien que Shawn soit né à Chéticamp, cela ne l’a pas empêché de voir le monde grâce à son travail et aux voyages qu’il a effectués au cours de ses 41 années de vie. La carte accrochée dans son appartement en Colombie-Britannique montrait des dizaines d’épingles dans tout le pays et aux États-Unis, représentant des endroits qu’il avait pu visiter.

Il a passé les dernières années de sa vie dans la belle ville de Hope, en Colombie-Britannique. Même s’il aurait aimé être parmi ses proches au Cap-Breton au moment de son décès, les vues à couper le souffle de sa fenêtre de son hôpital lui ont apporté un peu de paix et de réconfort pendant les jours les plus difficiles. De Halifax à Edmonton en passant par Hope, Shawn était peut-être loin de sa ville natale, mais pas loin de l’amour et du soutien. Avec son meilleur ami à ses côtés, John Michael MacEachearn, sa femme Alora et leurs trois adorables enfants, Laila, sa filleule Sienna et Ella, Shawn était avec famille.

Il ne se passera pas un jour sans que Georgina et Amedee John ne ressentent la perte de leur fils bien-aimé. Shawn était tout pour eux, et ils étaient tout pour Shawn. Il ne se passait pas une soirée sans que Shawn n’appelle à la maison pour passer un moment avec ses parents.

Shawn avait également un amour et une adoration profonds pour ses chiens, veillant à ce que ses qu’ils soient traités comme des rois. Lors du décès de Shawn, nous ne doutons pas que ses petits rois Lincoln et Grumpy se précipiteront pour l’accueillir. Et son magnifique Eddie sera pris en charge par ses parents à Chéticamp, assurant qu’il sera également gâté et aimé.

Il est impossible de penser à Shawn ou d’en parler sans sourire. Le cadeau de Shawn au monde était son humour et son rire. Avec le don de remonter le moral des gens sans effort, Shawn avait toujours quelque chose dans ses manches et une blague à partager. Les enfants, en particulier, l’adoraient et l’appelaient affectueusement Menoncle Shawn ou Uncle Big Show. D’innombrables petits ont eu la chance de l’avoir dans leur vie.

Shawn laisse derrière lui sa mère, Georgina (Roach) et son père, Amedee John, son grand-père Stanislas (Lionel), ses tantes Yvonne, Yvette, Germaine, Marguerite Marie, Francine, Lucie Anne, Marie-Cécile, Lisette, ses oncles, Joseph Charles, Daniel et Emile ainsi qu’une grande famille de cousins. Shawn est aussi prédécédé par ses grands-parents, Joseph à Charlot & Marie Anne Roach et Marguerite Poirier, ses oncles Russell, Claude & Nazaire, ainsi que sa tante Patricia & Brenda.

Les visites au salon et les funérailles seront annoncées à une date ultérieure.

Au lieu de fleurs, des dons peuvent être faits au Cape Breton Cancer Patient Care Fund.

En cette période de deuil, souvenons-nous du rire et de la bonne humeur de Shawn. Célébrons l’impact profond qu’il a eu sur tous ceux qui ont eu le privilège de le connaître. Que sa mémoire soit une bénédiction et qu’il repose en paix.

Condoléances

  • Bill Dunphy 23 avril 2024 9:57

    As someone who watched the NDA Acadiens defeat the Inverness Rebels in overtime at provincials in Trenton in 2001, it saddened me to read about Shawn’s passing. Parents should not outlive their children, and I feel the same about athletes I have watched play during their school years. My sincere condolences to the Poirier family, and Shawn’s teammates. I hope Eddie attends the wake.

Envoyez vos condoléances

Notez : Tous les champs sont requis. Les condoléances sont reçues et revues par le personnel du Salon funéraire de Chéticamp et publiées deux fois par semaine. Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée.

Options de condoléances

Sélectionnez la façon dont vous souhaitez que vos condoléances soient traitées par le Salon funéraire de Chéticamp.

Envoyées à la famille seulement
Envoyées à la famille et publiées sur ce site Web

Le bouton SOUMETTRE demeure inactif jusqu'à ce que le champ de sécurité « Je ne suis pas un robot » soit complété.